Blog · Life Scoop

August 1, 2017

Today is August 1st.

I know there were a million ‘Aug. 1…OMG’ posts today, but I really think there is something magical about this day (and it has nothing to do with Leo season lol). As this day comes to a close, I cannot help but to reflect on the greatness of this year. It has truly been a year of accomplishments for me. Last year around my birthday (Oct. 28 for those that may be planning a celebration), I called my mom to tell her that 2017 would be my year. I claimed it. I prayed about it, but more than anything, I worked to make this one of my best years.

Fast forward through these first seven months and this year certainly has not disappointed me. I dived head first into my communications minor this year by working at the student radio station, writing for the student paper, and completing a radio internship; graduated with honors from the greatest HBCU in the country; accepted into the greatest journalism school in the country with my tuition fully covered (if you know a scholarship for housing, let me know); and gained my first on-camera/interview experience by working with a professional summer basketball league.

Not sure why I decided to make this post tonight when June, technically, kicks off the last half of the year. Maybe it has to do with the summer being nearly over, or maybe it has to do with this being my last month in Texas before my next move but, when God puts something on my heart, I always act on it.

Cheers to my next phase on this journey! I know it will be a good one. In the meantime, let’s toast to my first NABJ conference in less than 10 days, shall we?

uNT

